• Em and Jess

Getting to know Em

Hello everyone and welcome back to another post! Jess has recently uploaded an introductory post to help you guys get to know her a little better, so I thought now would be the perfect time to upload mine as well. I decided to lay mine out slightly differently than Jess to keep things interesting, but when you've finished reading this be sure to head over to read hers too because it's so good! But anyway, let's get started...

The Basics


Star sign: Capricorn

Birthday: 17th January 1997

Home: I live in Kent, UK

Height: 5ft 9

Favourite subject at school: I really enjoyed History, I think because I have a knack with remembering dates, although I opted for Geography over History for my GCSEs because I was getting better grades in it... (wait for it)

Least favourite subject at school: Geography was literally the bane of my life through school (turns out I wasn't destined for success in this particular topic), which I'd say is pretty ironic given my love of travelling but there we go.

University: I studied at Winchester University from 2015-2018 and loved my experience there. University isn't for everyone, but I'm so glad I went. I made some amazing friends while I was there and I changed so much, plus I got to spend 3 years living in the beautiful historic city.

Job: I work in a nursery (in a room full of two-year-olds, and as you can probably imagine, it really keeps me on my toes!)

Favourites

Food: Pizza

Cocktail: Pina Colada

Season: Autumn

Films: TV Shows:

Back to the Future Jane the Virgin

Dirty Dancing This is Us

Crazy, Stupid, Love Grey's Anatomy

Musicals: West End Shows:

Sound of Music Dreamgirls

Mamma Mia Dear Evan Hansen

Chicago Wicked

Artists: Ed Sheeran, Ward Thomas, Queen and Whitney Houston.

Disney movies: Mulan, Sword in the Stone, and Tangled

Quotes: 'Although every day may not be good, there is something good in every day' & 'Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter, and those who matter don't mind'.

Travel

First independent trip (without family that is): If we're talking a holiday then that would be Greece in June 2016 with some girlfriends. But if we're talking city break then that would be Dublin in January 2016 with some school friends.

Places I would always want to go back to: Antigua, Australia, and Disneyland!

Dream destinations: As of right now, probably Japan, New Zealand, and any of the Scandinavian countries.

Destinations that mean the most to me: Antigua (where my parents got married in 1994), Nice in France (where my boyfriend and I celebrated our first anniversary), and Lake Garda in Italy (so many happy memories made there over the years on family holidays).


Fun facts

My first home was in a little seaside town called Sandwich

A lovely little town in Kent. We only lived here for a few months because from what I've been told the house was tiny, however it had been in the family for a good few years. My Grandad had bought it for his brother in the 1960s and my Great-Uncle used to communicate to his next door neighbour via Morse code through the wall, which is an anecdote I'd always been rather fond of.

I'm ambidextrous

Near enough my whole family is left-handed: my sister, both parents, three out of four grandparents, an aunt, and a couple of cousins. Roughly 12% of the World population is left-handed, and they say multitasking often comes naturally to lefties (although I'm not sure I'm the greatest example of this).

I love genealogy

This is something I definitely think I get from my Grandma. She isn't very tech-savvy in the slightest yet she still manages to navigate her way around Ancestry.com with success. I love having this hobby in common with her, and getting to hear all of the stories and facts that she has discovered about our ancestors.

I won a trip to Thailand

To this day this is still probably the craziest thing that's ever happened to me. One afternoon at uni when I was procrastinating instead of doing my dissertation, I thought it might be fun to enter one of those survey competitions (which I actually thought no one ever won!). Well as luck would have it I ended up with two free flights to Thailand, a place I never thought I'd get the opportunity to visit, so as you can imagine I really couldn't believe it when I received the email. I will always be so thankful for being given that chance to see such a beautiful country, and hopefully one day I'll get the chance to go back and explore more of Asia!

I hope this has helped you learn a bit more about me, and if you want to get better acquainted feel free to get in touch through instagram/twitter and let's have a chat! Thank you for reading, and as always take care. Much love x

0 views

© 2023 by NOMAD ON THE ROAD. Proudly created with Wix.com

The watercolour used on our logo:

<a href="https://www.freepik.com/free-photos-vectors/background">Background vector created by kjpargeter - www.freepik.com</a>